Ruthrakali Amman Temple

Aspect based on Planet or Sign’s Nature

This is the system of aspect studied in Jyotisha. This holds that certain planets or signs sight another planet or sign, depending on its nature. This can also be divided into two kinds –namely: Graha Drishti and Rasi Drishti. The Graha Drishti should be preferred first when analyzing the Nakshatra Dasha Chart, with respect to the Moon. The Rāshi Drishti should be preferred when analyzing the Rasi Dasha Chart, with respect to Special Lagnas and Vargas, i.e. Divisional Charts.

I. Aspect based on Relative Distance- This is the same method currently in vogue in Western Astrology. Tajik Varshaphala ( the Vedic Solar Return Chart), applies this technique to erect 14 different types of aspects, also known as Varshaphala Yogas.

II. Argala – the intervention- The Karakas (Significators) of various houses are interlinked. The support provided by one house to another, is called Argala, and the obstruction offered to the houses, is called Virodha Argala. Grahas (planets) in 2nd, 4th, and 11th houses, cause Argalas on a given house, whereas the planets in 12th, 10th, and 3rd, cause Virodha Argalas to the 2nd, 4th and 11th, respectively.

Benefics generally give Shubha Argalas, and Malefics offer Papa Argalas. If however, a Malefic has an Argala on a house of which it is a Significator, such an Aragala can be termed as Shubha. For example Malefics in 10th house cast Papa Prgala on the 9th house, as 10th house is second from 9th. This may make the newborn, non-religious and indicate bad relations with bosses and teachers (provided there is no Virodh Argala from 8th).

III. Arudha – the mounted image- The term Arudha Pada, is also known as just "Pada". Arudha, literally means "mount,” and refers to the IMAGE of one sign falling on another, due to the "reflection of the rays emanating from it and being reflected by its lord”. Keeping the reflection in view, the Karaka (Significator) can be taken to be the Moon. Count from a sign to its lord. Then count as many signs from the lord to arrive at the ARUDHA PADA. For example, if the Lagna Lord is in the fifth house, then count five signs from the Lagna lord to arrive at the ninth house. This ninth house becomes the Arudha Pada for the Lagna.

Exception: The Arudha Pada cannot be in the same sign, or the seventh, from it. In case this happens, then choose the tenth house there from. For example, if the Lagna Lord is in the 4th house, then the Arudha Lagna should be in the 4th from the 4th house, i.e. the 7th house. But since this is not allowed, the tenth from it, should be chosen. The tenth from the 7th house, is the 4th house, and the 4th house becomes the Arudha Lagna.

The Arudha of 1st house is also called the PADA LAGNA or the ARUDHA LAGNA. Arudha Lagna stands for "manifestation of self, in this Maya (illusory world). In this manner Arudha Pada can be computed for all the houses. They are called Dhana Pada (2nd), Bhratripada (3rd), Matri Pada (4th), Mantrapada (5th), Satrupada (6th), Dara Pada (7th), Roga Pada (8th), Bhagyapada (9th), Rajyapada (10th), Labhapada (11th) and Upapada (12th). The most ancient Atharva Vedic monk Jaimini, discussed Arudha lagna and Upapada extensively in his classical treatise.

IV. Yoga – the planetary combinations- In Jyotish, Yoga means "yoka" or combination. Yogas are certain planetary combinations. Jyotish classics indicate hundreds of thousands of Yogas. The Chandra (lunar combinations - for general luck), The Dhana (wealth related), and Raja (power and success related), Yogas, are often studied. Nearly eight hundred and seventy six (876), astrological yogas have been mentioned in ancient Atharva Vedic texts.

Shadbala – the sixfold strength. Shadbala means sixfold strength. Although these strengths are used in combination for finding the effect of planets on the lives of the natives, there is more use of the strengths and we get a clue of those uses from their names. These strengths need not be used only in predicting the results of the Dasa, however, they can also be used for normal interpretation of Horoscopes.

Shad Bal consists of the following strengths:

1. Sthan Bal (Positional Strength)

2. Dig Bal (Directional Strength)

3. Kāl Bal (Temporal Strength), inclusive of Ayan Bal (Equinoctial strength)

4. Chesht Bal (Motional strength)

5. Naisargika Bal (Natural Strength)

6. Drik Bal (Aspectual Strength).

These strengths are computed for the seven Grahas from Sun to Saturn. The lunar nodes (Raaghu and Kethu) are not considered. No one can become an astrologer by reading the texts and books alone. The blessings of the Yaksha Devathas is a must. Only then, will the words from the mouth of an astrologer, be true. The results given by him will be wonderful. I pray Lord Shiva and Vanadurga Matha to shower their entire blessings on all of us. I will meet you all, in the next month’s issue, with some more insight on Vedic Astrology.